Second Grade’s Seussical Showcase – My Last Student Teaching Project

Standard

Image

I am so proud to say that I made all of the decorations for our Showcase! Coming from someone with crafting anxiety, this is a big deal!Image

After presenting a biography of Dr. Seuss (and quizzing their parents!) my kiddos did a Reader’s Theatre (a type of play) of Oh The Places You’ll Go. They did AMAZING! It takes a lot of guts for a non-native speaker to ACT OUT Dr. Seuss’s complex rhymes. Their practice paid off. They also acted out The Sneetches – with a  homemade Star Off Machine.

Image
This was the presentation I was most proud of because I spent the most time prepping for it. In science, we have been learning about the different types of matter. After reading Bartholomew and the Oobleck, we made Oobleck in class! My students did the experiment with their parents today and taught them all about the special qualities of this non-Newtonian fluid. I was so impressed!

ImageImage
My cooperating teacher, Wara, and I made our students Dr. Seuss Goodie bags as a surprise. They were filled with Truffala trees pencils, Dr. Seuss bookmarks, and Lorax mustaches. Between those fun things and the Seuss snacks the parents made, we had a party after the show!

Image

All in all, I fell in love with these kids. Seeing them interact with their parents and families today helped me to see them in a whole new light. I have adored watching them learn and I am so grateful to have been a part of their special Showcase today. It was truly an unforgettable and unique experience to have been working toward. I am much sadder about saying goodbye tomorrow than I thought I would be. Who would have guessed I would get THIS attached in only one month?

Leave a Reply

